Virbhadra Singh Sworn in as Chief Minister Himachal Pradesh

Shimla: Virbhadra Singh took oath as Chief Minister of the Himachal Pradesh for record sixth time at the historic Ridge Maidan in an impressive oath taking ceremony here today.

Governor, Smt Urmila Singh administered the oath of office and secrecy to Virbhadra Singh as Chief Minister. S. Roy, Chief Secretary conducted proceeding of the ceremony.

The Oath ceremony was attended by thousands of Virbhadra Singh’s supporters, elected MLA’s, Ex-Ministers and Ex-MLA’s of congress party, MLA’s from Rajasthan and Punjab and senior officers of the State Government.

The others who had made it to the cabinet and were administered oath were Smt Vidya Stokes, who had won the election from the Theog assembly constituency in Shimla, Kaul Singh Thakur from Drang assembly segment in Mandi, G.S. Bali from Nagrota Bagwan and Sujan Singh Pathania from Fatehpur from Kangra, Thakur Singh Bharmouri from Bharmour assembly constituency in Chamba, Mukesh Agnihotri from Haroli Una district, Sudhir Sharma from Dharamsala assembly segment in Kangra, Prakash Chaudhry from Balh in Mandi and Dhani Ram Shandil from Solan.

Birendar Singh General Secretary All India Congress Committee (AICC) and in-charge Himachal affairs and Anees Ahmed, Secretary AICC and other senior congress leaders were also present on the occasion. Maheshwar Singh, President Himachal Lokhit Party(HLP) was also present.

Earlier, Virbhadra Singh reached the venue with Rani Pratibha Singh and his other family members along-with thousands of his supporters dancing to the tune of traditional music, blowing trumpets, beating drums and raising slogans in favour of their dearly-loved leader.

All the roads in early morning seemed to be leading towards Holly lodge where people had started gathering to felicitate Virbhadra Singh. The Venue was bustling with festive activity wherein the people thronged in from different corners of the State to be witness to the historic moment where Shri Virbhadra Singh took oath as Chief Minister of the State for record sixth term. The people donning green Himachali caps were seen all over the venue. Four display screens were also erected in the town to facilitate the people to view the ceremony.

After the ceremony,  Virbhadra Singh drove straight to State Secretariat to assume the office. S. Roy, Chief Secretary along-with all the senior officers of the State felicitated Shri Virbhadra Singh. Hundreds of people had gathered at the secretariat to welcome  Virbhadra Singh and congratulate him on becoming the Chief Minister. In addition to this employees of Secretariat also welcomed Chief Minister in his office.

About MVO News Bureau

MVO News Bureau works with many organizations to maximize the coverage of news and events in North India. MVO News Bureau also covers special events, attractions and politics of the north India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *