AMU Students’ Union election results declared

Aligarh: Mr. Shahzad Alam, Ph.D. scholar, Centre for Women’s Studies was declared as President of the Aligarh Muslim University Students’ Union (AMUSU) in the election held yesterday. Mr. Taushif Alam, M.A. (Mass Communication) was declared Vice President and Mr. Manzar Hussain, MA (Sociology) as Honorary Secretary of the Students’ Union. The results of the Students’ Union election were declared early today by the Chief Election Officer Prof. Mohammad Shabbir.

For the post of President, four candidates were in fray while seven contested for the post of Vice Presidentship and three were in fray for the post of Hony. Secretary. The polling was also held yesterday for ten Cabinet Members. Hafiz Obaidullah, Azhar Khan, Haseeb Khan, Arshad Aziz Malik, Mohammad Talib Khan, Shoeb Ali, Mohd. Huzaifa Sabir, Faizan Khan, Mohd. Azam and Mohd. Danish Saifi were declared elected out of a total thirteen candidates who were in fray.

The election of four representatives of the students on the University Court were also held yesterday. Mr. Hashim Khan (unopposed), Mohd. Shahzeb, Arshan Khan and Faeq Azim were declared elected as members of the University Court under Faculty of Law, Life Sciences, Social Sciences and Engineering and Technology respectively.

The whole process of election, from filing of nomination to campaigning, voting, counting and declaration of results, was completed in festive and peaceful atmosphere.

AMUSU was established in 1884 as a debating club on the pattern of Oxford and Cambridge Universities and this students’ body has produced great freedom fighters, leaders and statesmen like Dr. Zakir Husain, who became the President of India.

About MVO News Bureau

MVO News Bureau works with many organizations to maximize the coverage of news and events in North India. MVO News Bureau also covers special events, attractions and politics of the north India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *